Community Development Grant Program

Community Development Grant Program

Post by
The following are some of the major community development grants received by the City and administered through the Office of Budget and Management.
  • Community Development Block Grant (CDBG)

    The City receives a Community Development Block Grant from HUD to serve the needs of low- and moderate- income people, families, and communities. OBM administers CDBG grant funds while departments manage the contracts executed between the city and not-for-profit "Delegate Agencies" throughout Chicago. For a list of some of the programs funded by CDBG, please see HUD's website

  • Community Development Block Grant Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR)

     Following intense storms and flooding in April of 2013, the federal government awarded the City of Chicago Community Development Block Grant- Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) funds to help recovery efforts in area most affected by the storms and to mitigate future flooding. These funds are mostly used on infrastructure projects and housing rehabilitation.

  • Emergency Solutions Grants (ESG)

    The ESG program helps provide essential services for homeless individuals, including emergency shelter and intervention strategies for families at risk of becoming homeless. The EGG Grant is administered by the Department of Family and Support Services (DFSS). For a full list of services and initiatives overseen by DFSS, please see their website

  • HOME Investment Partnerships (HOME)

    HOME provides funds to strengthen public-private partnerships and expand the supply of decent, safe, sanitary, affordable housing with primary attention to rental housing for very low- and low-income families. The HOME program is administered by the Department of Housing. 

  • Housing Opportunities for People with AIDS (HOPWA)

    The HOPWA program provides resources and incentives to develop long and short-term comprehensive strategies for meeting the housing needs of persons with HIV/AIDS.. The HOPWA program is administered by the Department of Health for the eligible metropolitan area (EMA) of Chicago. 

Share this article on social media